Skip to content


NCISNCIS is a police procedural drama created by Donald P. Bellisario and Don McGill that airs on CBS. The show stars Mark Harmon, Sasha Alexander, Michael Weatherly, Pauley Perrette, David McCallum, Sean Murray, Cote de Pablo, Lauren Holly, Rocky Carroll, Brian Dietzen, and Emily Wickersham. To date, NCIS has aired for thirteen full seasons since 2003 and has gone into broadcast syndication on USA Network.

Originally referred to as Navy NCIS, the series revolves around a team of special agents from the Naval Criminal Investigative Series (NCIS), which investigates criminal cases involving the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps. The show is praised for its ensemble cast, character driven plotlines, and comedic moments within its dramatic context.

The NCIS is the primary law enforcement and counterintelligence agency of the United States Department of the Navy. NCIS investigates all major criminal offenses within the Department of the Navy. These offenses are felonies and include crimes punishable under the Uniform Code of Military Justice by confinement of more than one year.

NCIS has inspired spin-off series NCIS: Los Angeles and NCIS: New Orleans.

Back to Crime in the Media

Back to Crime Library

Back To Top